Boys, Christianity, Fatherhood, Parenting

Well Then, Let’s Go

father & son working on car engineOver the weekend a group of teenage boys came to our home to join our son in a building project for school.  The project required the use of multiple power tools.

At one point in the afternoon a sander, a circular saw, overhead lighting, a speaker and a space heater were all running at the same time and…..

Can you guess what happened next?

Trust me, it’s not a hard guess….

Our son came in from the garage (aka: ground zero for electrical usage) to tell his father about the blown fuse.  To fix the situation my husband headed for the fuse box in the basement but stopped short, turned around, and came back to his son.

“Do you know what to do when a fuse gets blown, Son?” my husband asked.

“Nope,” my son replied.

“Well then, let’s go!” and my husband motioned for his son to follow him to the basement for a little fuse-box training.

Now “The Hub” had his own work to do that day and didn’t really have time to spare. Not only was my husband busy, he had already spent the entire morning helping my son prepare our garage and gather supplies for the building project.  It would have been quicker and easier for my husband to have just taken care of the fuse box himself, but he knew that it was better to take the time to teach his son a new skill.

This event was a good reminder to me about the nature of God.  God led by example.

Jesus was the Ultimate Sacrifice, BUT He was also the Ultimate Example!

When we wonder how to live our lives in obedience to Him – when we wonder what we are to do as a Christian – God says, “Do what you see Me do.”

And because God led the way by example, He calls us to do the same for our children and others around us.

In John 15:12-15 Jesus says, “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.”

Well then, friends, let’s go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

